Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Community
Carpal Tunnel...need some advice...
About This Community:

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome is a progressive condition that occurs when the nerve, that runs from the forearm to the hand becomes pressed or squeezed at the wrist causing pain in the hand and wrist. Discuss topics including prevention, causes, symptoms and treatments for carpal tunnel.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Carpal Tunnel...need some advice...

Hello. I'm 24 years old and have been dealing with Carpal Tunnel in my right (dominant) hand/wrist for about 4 years. The severity of the pain/weakness varies...I'll have some days/weeks when it's just annoying and not that noticeable and then I'll have other periods of time when the pain is worse and my hand is very weak. I work as a pharmacy tech so my work days include being on the computer and opening/closing medication bottles. I have seen a "hand doctor" (I'm not sure of his exact title) twice. The first time he gave me a shot in my wrist. The pain was almost excruciating the first 2 days after the shot then was better for about 1 week then it was back to normal. I don't really think the pain I felt the first 2 days after the shot was worth the mere week of lessened pain I had afterwards. I wasn't expressing to him a desire to have surgery so he left it at if i wanted another shot just to call the office. I've been going to a chiropractor for about 2 months and he's done some things that haven't really helped as of yet. I've been thinking about surgery...I do plan to be in this field of work for most of my life, and in my free time I'm also on the computer a lot too. My husband and I want to start a family within the year and I'm worried if I don't get the surgery before we have children I might have trouble changing/bathing/dressing with the pain and weakness I feel at times. Would a doctor operate on someone my age? Should I really be thinking about surgery?
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank