Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Community
Undiagnosed and confused?
About This Community:

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome is a progressive condition that occurs when the nerve, that runs from the forearm to the hand becomes pressed or squeezed at the wrist causing pain in the hand and wrist. Discuss topics including prevention, causes, symptoms and treatments for carpal tunnel.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Undiagnosed and confused?

I am a musician and have been experiencing hand pain in both of my hands. It started in my right and has occurred in my left now, too. It all started in one isolated event. I was playing a gig and thought I injured my right hand. I rested it for a week, as per doctor's orders, and it seemed to be fine. He told me over the phone it sounded like a pulled muscle or small sprain and if it didn't get any better, to come in for an appointment. It go better so I never went. The pain was dull but constant and caused me a great deal of discomfort.

Since then, the pain has randomly occurred and flared up. One day I was at the store moving clothes on the rack and it seemed to be the same kind of injury.

Now,  both of my hands will randomly tingle/have a pins and needles sensation occur. The pain is again, dull but constant and causes me a great deal of discomfort when I try to do a lot of consistent things using them. When I crack my thumb/fingers the pain will subside for a few seconds but comes right back. The pain is also in my wrists and arms.

It is bad enough that it wakes me up at night and causes me to become restless. I have tried a numbing cream and it has been helping me sleep slightly. I am not sure what exactly is wrong or what to do about it.

I am only in my early twenties and am confused if it is Carpal Tunnel or Arthritis or something else. I am unsure what to do, what doctor to see, and how to treat it myself for the time being. Any help or suggestions are appreciated!
Hello and hope you are doing well.