Celiac (Sprue) Disease Community
Vinegar
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Celiac (Sprue) disease, anemia, behavioral changes and neurological issues, dental issues, diet and nutrition, infertility, gastrointestinal issues, gluten-free recipes, growth issues, infants and children with Celiac, pain management, and skin and dermatology issues.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Vinegar

Can someone tell me if vinegar is off limits for those of us gluten allergies?  I have read different opinions as to vinegar, malt vinegar, white vinegar and so on.  I LOVE Heinz 57 sauce and see that vinegar is an ingrediant.  
Related Discussions
3 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
Heinz regular apple cider vinegar is safe, but Heinz told me not to use their organic apple cider vinegar.  I use the regular one a lot in Good Seasons Italian dressing mix, which is also GF.  You would need to call Heinz about any of their other products.  Some things might have contamination issues that might not show up on the labels, but they should be able to tell you.

Blank
Avatar_m_tn
straight vinegar will not contain gluten, some of the other ingredients in heinz 57 may though.  
Blank
Avatar_n_tn
You need to call Heinz and be sure that the vinegar they are using in the 57 is apple cider vinegar or just ask if it is safe for celiacs. It probably has caramel coloring, a no-no.
Blank
Post a Comment
To
Blank
Weight Tracker
Weight Tracker
Start Tracking Now
Celiac (Sprue) Disease Community Resources
RSS Expert Activity
233488_tn?1310696703
Blank
Marathon Running Done Over Many Yea...
May 21 by John C Hagan III, MD, FACS, FAAOBlank
233488_tn?1310696703
Blank
New Article on Multifocal IOL vs &q...
May 21 by John C Hagan III, MD, FACS, FAAOBlank
748543_tn?1371753642
Blank
TMJ/TMJ The Connection Between Teet...
Jan 27 by Hamidreza Nassery , DMD, FICOI, FAGDBlank
Top Digestive Answerers
168348_tn?1379360675
Blank
ChitChatNine