Chiari Malformation Community
Possibly Time for Surgery
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Chiari Malformation and Living with Chiari Malformation.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Possibly Time for Surgery

Hello Everyone,

I signed up for this community awhile ago, but this is my first time posting. I have Chiari I, and while I have had severe symptoms since puberty (roughly 20 years) I have only been taken seriously over the past couple of years. My last neurologist performed a spinal tap and when there was elevated pressure found I was placed on Acetazolamide. It was like a miracle drug, despite the terrible side effects, I was pain free for the first time. That lasted about a year and a half until this past winter when the symptoms came back worse than ever. Though, now I do not have health insurance that covers previously diagnosed illnesses. I went to the local public health clinic, and the general practitioner there doubled my Acetazolamide dosage to 250 MM, and things have improved, but they're not great. This past Friday, I saw a neurologist and the symptoms are severe enough he wants me to get MRIs and see a neurosurgeon within a month. If that can't happen he wants me to go to the ER.

Since I have health insurance, I am very doubtful that I will be approved for any assistance, though my insurance won't cover this. Has anyone had to deal with this un- or underinsured? Any tips? Are there any doctors or foundations that help low income patients? I don't know what to do. I'm basically on my own with this, I'm single and though my friends care they can only do so much. I feel so helpless in the face of this.
8 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
A friend's adult daughter was accepted as a charity patient at our local state university hospital.  (She is just recently having severe symptoms from a car accident years ago, & will have some kind of cervical surgery.)