Child Behavior Community
Autism or Abuse?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to child behavior, discipline (behavior management), parent-child communications, and social development.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Autism or Abuse?

I am a teacher in a kindergarten classroom that contains both regular and special ed children.  We have a new five year old boy who behaves very strangely and the teacher who I work with and I are at odds on what the problem is - she says it is autism, I say it is severe emotional abuse.... Behaviors he exhibits are as follows:

temper tantrums that involve injuring himself, head banging, biting himself, throwing himself on the floor

when he does something incorrectly he calls himself stupid, an idiot etc...

he has a certain way he wants to something and if he doesn't do it the way he intends he completely melts down

he does play with other children in the classroom

he is extreemly clingy, when hugging hugs TIGHTLY

does not want us to call Mom to send him to the office
has a hard time focusing and staying involved in tasks

is constantly worried others are being "mean" to him

likes to line up cars in rows, and build things, but has a tantrum if he doesn't build them correctly (screaming, crying, throwing himself down)

when he starts a tantrum, he can be inconsolable, but not always, usually he can be talked down by me, although not by any other teachers.  Clearly, he needs to be in a self contained classroom - but we really disagree on what is causing his delays and tantrums.  

He has not spoken of any emotional abuse, but I wonder.

Any thoughts?
Related Discussions
-1 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
If it is emotional abuse, he wouldn't have mentioned it.  Most kids around 5 or so wouldn't necessarily be able to identify themselves as victims of abuse...particulalry emotional abuse.