Child Behavior Community
Defiant Parents
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to child behavior, discipline (behavior management), parent-child communications, and social development.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Defiant Parents

Good morning or evening or day or night or afternoon guys and whassup. My name is Hamed Khatiz and I am a sixteen year old student, writer, drummer, adviser and many more from Sydney. When I was walking home from school there was this woman beside me, we were about to cross the road, and she had her daughter next to her.

They were kind of hard to miss, considering her daughter's volume. She was screaming like nothing you have ever seen before. She was cying and shrieking incomprehensibly. I then heard her mother's response. "No, no. you can cry all you want, that stuff doesn't work with me" and I was like "Oh, wow! One of them LOL."

She kept on going and she kept on defying. It was all incomprehensible until about three minutes later I heard another one of her mother's repsonses. "No, I am not carrying you. I said you were going to walk today." Oh my wow. It was like an army comamndo, totally defiant and the way she said "that stuff's not going to work with me."

In Sydney and especially in the area where I live, there are so many bluntly defiant parents refsuing to give in to their kids. Does that kind of a response and attitude to harm to children? I mean I could imagine myself in that situation and if someone said to me, "that stuff isn't going to work on me", at the age of two or three, I wouldn't know what to think. I would imagine some kids would be terrified if their parents showed that kind of an attitude.

How common is that defiant, hard kind of attitude attitude and yeah, does it ever work?

If I got some of this wrong, please forgive me, I am sixteen and have no experience in this area so yeah.

Khatiz.
Related Discussions
377493_tn?1356505749