Child Behavior Community
Intentional urinating
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to child behavior, discipline (behavior management), parent-child communications, and social development.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Intentional urinating

I am a preschool teacher and have recently acquired a 4 year old child who seems to intentionally urinate on themself when angry, bored, or simply wants to change their clothes. The child has been involved in the same school for 3+ years and I have talked to past teachers and learned they experienced the same problem. The child can have consecutive days without accidents or consecutive days of 3+ accidents a day. I've spoken with the parents and they experience the same behavior at home. I've offered positive praise, negative reinforcement, and positive reinforcement. I feel like nothing is ever going to work and I'm out of ideas. The parents and I have decided to try to stop the problem before it begins. We will put a diaper on the child as soon as they have an accident, as to distract from the want to change clothes all day. The child is not overly hyperactive nor impulsive so I feel that ADHD is not the cause. Can this simply be an attention grabbing technique? If so, any advice on redirecting to a new behavior?
Related Discussions
3 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
603946_tn?1333945439
just reward system- If it is defiance and he is in control and he is strong willed there is something out there he LOVES- his parents will find it- money? 30 minutes playtime at burger king in the bounce house on Friday evening if he has been dry all week?

That is the only motivator I can think of- I know it's hard when you want an answer NOW- and I do agree with the pull ups or diaper thing- child experts say it is confusing but you can't spend all day changing a 4 year old.