Chlamydia Community
What if Azithromycin & Doxycycline Don't Work?
About This Community:

This forum is an un-mediated, patient-to-patient forum for questions and support regarding Chlamydia issues such as: Causes, Chlamydia in Women, Exams and Tests, Medications, Prevention, Research, Risks, Support, Surgery, Symptoms, Treatments, What to ask your doctor.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

What if Azithromycin & Doxycycline Don't Work?

About 6 weeks ago, I picked up chlamydia from my girlfriend.  As this is my first (and hopefully last) experience with an STD, I'm a bit of a novice as far as treatment is concerned.  3 weeks ago I went to see my primary care doctor (about a week after symptoms began) complaining of a slight itchy/burning sensation during urination.  I did not have any discharge at all.  I was tested and came back positive for chlamydia.  Here is what transired after this:

- 1 day before test results, doctor prescribed 400 mg of Suprax
- The day the test results confirmed I had chlamydia and not gonorrhea, I was given 1500 mg of azithromycin.  I took 1 gram the first day, and 500 mg the 2nd day.
- 5 days later I still had symptoms, so I saw a urologist.  He ran another test (which subsequently came back positive for chlamydia), and prescribed 100 mg of Doxycycline twice per day, for 14 days.  

I am now on day 12 of the Doxy, and I still have symptoms.  My last pill will be Tuesday morning, and I'm scheduled for another test on Thursday.  And now for the questions:

Is it likely at this point that the Doxycycline has not worked?  If so, is it worth asking for a different antibiotic rather than wait 5-7 days for test results to come back and not be on meds during this time?  If so, what medication is most appropriate assuming azithromycin and doxycycline did not work?

Thanks in advance.
Related Discussions
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank