Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disorder Community
Pleural Plaque & Coarse Pleural Thickening
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disorder.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Pleural Plaque & Coarse Pleural Thickening

I'm a firefighter of 13 years. Every two years we're required to get chest x rays during our physicals. Mine have always been normal until a few weeks ago when mine came back with abnormal swelling to the hilum and perihilar region. They sent me for a second which confirmed it and then back for a CT with contrast.

The results of that CT show pleural plaque in both the right and left lung and coarse pleural thickening of the right lung base. I'm 39 as of this month, which is apparently young for a result of this sort.

What concerns me is that the morning of my physical, prior to being told the results of my x ray, I explained to the doctor that I was having right lower lobe pain upon inspiration and since then have had some pain upon inspiration in the middle of my chest. I also failed the breathing test we're required to do which measures the volume of our respirations.

As the soonest I could be seen by the pulmonologist is the 25th I've got plenty of time to stew, worry and wonder. I don't understand where I was exposed to asbestos. I don't understand why I've got this at a relatively young age. I have no idea whether or not this will progress and make the career of firefighting become an impossibility for me or if I'll be carrying around an oxygen tank in ten years. I have no clue if I have cancerous cells now or how much I have to worry about that in the future. While I'm not a smoker I grew up with parents who smoked several packs a day inside the closed up house and cars with the windows up. I've been around second hand smoke most of my life.