Congestive Heart Failure Community
Pulse Pressure & PVR
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Congestive Heart Failure (CHF).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Pulse Pressure & PVR

Hi, I am a University student studying for my Registered Nursing degree. I am currently studying the heart, specifically a case study on a patient with CHF. I am a little confused about Pulse Pressure and its relation to Pulmonary vascular resistance. This patient has a BP reading of 185/60 - therefore his PP would be 125 - the difference between systolic & diastolic readings. Does this mean that PP has increased (as the 125 is way out of normal range of 35 - 50) as it appears or does it mean that pulse pressure actually lessons and becomes less effective as the pulse pressure widens? This is probably basic to you, but the more I study this and the more information I access, the more confused I am becoming.
My basic understanding of BP is - Systolic = the heart ejecting blood into the systemic system, diastolic = the hart at rest, as it refills with blood. When I look at this mans BP reading, it makes me think that his atrium is in AF, so beating really fast and poss erratically, while the ventricle is behaving normally, and is just filling a normal amount of blood, instead of an increased amount as you would expect, to keep up with the atrium. This then looks like the ejection rate has increased, but the fill rate has not, therefore the actual pressure in the circulatory system may have increased, but is less than effective.
With the heart filling at a normal rate, and the heart ejecting at an increased rate, would there be a deficit in blood or too much, as in AF the heart beats too rapidly to eject a decent amount of blood? Also, how does PVR impact on PP? Hope this makes a little sense to someone, as I am very confused, any hlp would be appreciated, thanks Cheers Ally
Related Discussions
Hi,