DNA / Paternity Community
Help! Need a second opinion
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to DNA/Paternity testing. The purpose of the community is for members to discuss information and share support with members who have questions about DNA / Paternity testing. Topics include when to test, types of tests, cost, reliability, confidentiality, legal issues, and results. All questions and comments posted in the patient to patient forums are provided by individual visitors who are NOT MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Help! Need a second opinion

So I'm 99.9% sure I know who the father of my child is but I need a second opinion.  Don't want to keep second guessing myself. I can't remember the exact date of my LMP but it was sometime around the week of August 8. On August 24 I had sex with "Jim" we didn't use any type of protection and he ejaculated inside of me. We weren't exactly planning on a baby but we weren't preventing it either. Well a few days after that we ended up breaking up. I ended up hanging out with the guy I dated before Jim... Well "Josh" and I ended up having sex on Sept. 1.. Dumb I know, But I was feeling lonely and hurt. Anyways he pulled out like he always did when we dated and I never got pregnant all those times before. Yes I know pulling out isn't the best birth control method and you can still get pregnant. Also forgot to add after jim and I had sex, I took a pregnancy test just to make sure and it was negative, then again I took it pretty early after having sex, which I know now you have to wait 2-3 weeks after intercourse to take a pregnancy test. Fast forward to September 12, I went to planned parenthood to see if I had a Uti, and they ended up giving me a pregnancy test and it was positive. So I guess my question would be out of the two men who could possibly be the father? For me it's always been Jim because the chances of me getting pregnant by someone ejaculating in me, is a lot higher then possibly getting pregnant by pre-***. I would really like to hear your opinions! Thank you in advance.
13 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
Pre-ejaculation*
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
Also forgot to add my EDD is May 21st
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303
How did you get your estimated due date?  If it was from an ultrasound, how far along with the pregnancy were you at the time of the  ultrasound?  
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
I believe it was from the ultrasound, I'm at work so I don't have the ultrasound pic to check the date but will post it as soon as I get home
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
Okay so I'm looking at my first ultrasound pic which was on 10/8/2012 and the GA is 8 weeks and 5 days. Don't remember if that's how I got my EDD, because my doctor also used some kind of chart and put me at May 21st. Do you think I'm right in thinking that Jim is the father?
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303
Hi, KRose,

If you rely on the eight-week ultrasound to give you your numbers (which I would recommend you do), here is what they are:

Presumed first day of last menstrual period:  August 8, 2013
Probable date of ovulation:  August 22, 2013
Possible dates of conception:  August 18 to August 26, 2013
Due date:  May 15, 2014 (40 weeks)

If you instead go with the doctor's estimate looking at his wheel, you get:

Presumed first day of last menstrual period:  August 14, 2012
Probable date of ovulation:  August 28, 2012
Possible dates of conception:  August 24 to September 1, 2012
Due date:  May 21, 2013 (40 weeks)

Even though the presumed first day of last period is off, you can't discount the doctor's estimate entirely unless you know why he said what he did and can write *that* off as incorrect.  

Almost everything points to Jim having a much better chance to be the father than Josh.  But with the two so close together, it does merit a DNA test when the baby is born.
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
Maybe she has the wrong date of my LMP? and that's why it's a few days off? I'm going to talk to her when I see her on Thursday and ask her how she got her estimate of May 21 for my due date. And if it is wrong and she's able to write it off as incorrect, should I go with the 15th as my due date giving Jim a higher percentage of being the father. Hope this makes sense, tried to explain myself to the best of my ability.
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303
I tend to trust the ultrasounds over wheels and memories of when last periods began, as long as the ultrasound is early enough in the pregnancy.  (They get less accurate with time because babies grow at different rates.)  In fact some of the literature I have read instructs doctors that if the ultrasound says one thing about probable dates and the first day of the last period says another, go with what the ultrasound says.  A woman can ovulate late, which of course makes the first day of the last period not so reliable for dating pregnancy IF there is also an ultrasound in hand that has seen the baby in the very early stages.  They might off at 8 weeks by possibly a day, but not several days.
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
So let's say I go with the ultrasound, that would give Jim a more probable chance of being the father? And with the doctors wheel it's up in the air and it could be either Jim or Josh? Since I can't remember the exact date of my LMP it's hard to base it off of that. I have a doctors appointment tomorrow, how should I go about talking to her and what kind of questions should I ask when it comes to this subject. Some pointers would be nice so I don't go into it being all nervous, just want to try and figure this all out before I talk to josh.
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
By figure this all out, I meant the dates. Or at least try to. I know the only way to find out who the father is, is by doing a paternity test. hope my last message makes sense. It does when I write it out but not sure if other people understand what I'm trying to say.
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303
Almost everything points to Jim having a much better chance to be the father than Josh.  

Just tell your doc that with the due date from the ultrasound, you are getting the most likely conception date of August 22, and with the computations she did on her little wheel, you are getting a most likely conception date of August 28, and since that is almost a week apart you are wanting to know why it would differ, because you had a different partner September 1.  She will probably reassure you that the ultrasound dates are the ones to take seriously.
Blank
Avatar_f_tn
I just saw your message. My appointment was about 2 hours ago, but I kind of asked her something similar. I asked her what I had said my last LMP was and I had said sometime between 8-8-12 to 8-14-12 because I couldn't remember. So then I ask her if they get the due date from my last LMP and she said no because there was a big discrepancy and the first ultrasound is more accurate, But my due date is still May 21st. unfortunately I forgot to tell her about the partner I slept with in September since I was so nervous talking about my situation with her.  I go back in two weeks so hopefully I'll be more calm and able to explain my situation without feeling embarrassed. So with her saying that they take the ultrasound dates more seriously, should I leave Jim as the front runner. Sorry if it seems like I'm repeating myself in my messages just trying to get a clear picture or at least a semi clear picture.
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303
Hi, Krose, if you can't see the whole thread at once (i.e., if you're texting on a phone), you might go to a laptop or desktop and read the whole conversation again.  It might help calm your worries if you could see the earlier remarks all together; you would be able to get your arms around the issue entirely.  Doctors are instructed to use an early ultrasound over any self-reported first day of a last period; women sometimes forget when their period is or simply delude themselves, and an ultrasound (again, if it is early) is really close or exact.  This is not going to help you entirely, because the guys are very close together.  But Jim has a better chance than Josh.
Blank
Post a Comment
To
Blank
Weight Tracker
Weight Tracker
Start Tracking Now
DNA / Paternity Community Resources
RSS Expert Activity
242532_tn?1269553979
Blank
The 3 Essentials to Ending Emotiona...
Sep 18 by Roger Gould, M.D.Blank
242532_tn?1269553979
Blank
Control Emotional Eating with this ...
Sep 04 by Roger Gould, M.D.Blank
242532_tn?1269553979
Blank
Emotional Eating Control: How to St...
Aug 28 by Roger Gould, M.D.Blank
Top Pregnancy Answerers
9523089_tn?1409767585
Blank
gueritacali
Chowchilla, CA
Avatar_f_tn
Blank
July2baby
Avatar_f_tn
Blank
PregoNay_
134578_tn?1404951303
Blank
AnnieBrooke
OR
Avatar_f_tn
Blank
mymy22
Avatar_f_tn
Blank
Jazzmen4710