Dental Health Community
Abscess tooth -- in pain. Any advice?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to dental issues, bridges, cavities, crowns, orthodontics, and x-rays.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Abscess tooth -- in pain. Any advice?

On Saturday, I started to feel a strong pain. I was unable to find a dentist to see me until Monday afternoon. Monday, I went to the dentist, where x-rays were taken. I have an abscessed tooth.

I was prescribed 500mg's of Amoxicillin, 3 times a day, for 10 days. I have been on this since Monday afternoon -- it is now Wed. morning.

I feel absolutely no relief.

I have been taking 400mg's of Advil every 4 hours, on my dentists recommendation..  Still, it throbs constantly.

Is it normal for me to still be in pain?
Should I be concerned?

What can I do for the pain, as my dentist seems unwilling to prescribe pain medication.
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Hi,
Antibiotics can take a few days to start to help.  If you don't have some pain relief by tomorrow (Thursday), give your dentist a call and tell him.  He may want to change the antibiotic.  
If you can take the prescription dose of Advil (ibuprofen), that's what I would do.  Motrin (the RX equivalent) is 800mg of ibuprofen three to four times a day.

GOOD LUCK.  Please let us know how you are doing.
My very best to you,
Gellia
Blank
1649386_tn?1301489945