Depression Community
What is Depression?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to depression, counseling, sleep problems, and nutrition.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

What is Depression?

Good morning or evening or day or night or afternoon guys and whassup. My name's Hamd Khatiz and I am a sixteen year old student, writer, drummer, friend, former friend, music lover and many more from Sydney. First off, I would like to tell you guys that I am still alive and kicking, I have not posted in the Depression Community since a long time ago, so it is good to be back.

I want to start with the basics. I lost a friend, Stefanie and drifted apart from others in August or perhaps even longer, but I won't get into that too much. Anyway, it killed me and I got couselling for it. I have had two sessions so far and in the second session, when what he suggested didn't work, he was talking to me about how to deal with the situation and live with it.

We came out with stuff like, practice breathing properly when you see her, work out, avoid her as much as humanely possible, even though sometimes that is not humanely possible as acknowledged. But in the middle he asked me:

"How do you feel when you see her and the look on her face?"

I said stuff like I get angry, I have got questions floating all over my head, I rush up, I am deflated i.e. I haven't got a tonne of energy. The whole way through he was taking notes and he read some of them out loud and instead of writing "deflated", he wrote "depressed".

I have always wondered, everyone says Depression is a medical condition and I believe that myself and I have advised people that it really is a medical condition. And then people say it is a mood, not a disease. You know, when you feel depressed, that is a mood you are in. Granted a bad one, but a mood in all, it's not like there is anything medically wrong with you.