Dermatology Community
Itchy bumps around scrapes or cuts
About This Community:

This forum is for questions regarding Dermatology issues, such as: rashes, acne, birthmarks, skin infections, rosacea, and general skin care.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Itchy bumps around scrapes or cuts

Recently I have noticed that every time I get a scrape, cut, or scratch I get itchy, red bumps around the wound which start to appear when the cut or scrape is starting to heal. The bumps seems to fester a bit and break easily if scratched, sometimes releasing a small amount of clear liquid . They are extremely itchy and sort of resemble poison ivy but I am fairly confident it is not poison ivy. I have been noticing this trend for about 6 months.

I usually use Neosporin on the scrapes, but the use of Neosporin did not use to cause any sort of reaction when I was younger. I will usually cover wounds with a band-aid during the day, but then leave it uncovered overnight to help wounds air out.

On a possibly unrelated note- for the past  3 weeks or so I have noticed that my palms and the areas between some of my fingers will get really itchy from time to time. Never have any redness or hardly any bumps, just a lot of itching. Also I had some red, itchy bumps in my armpits recently, but that is beginning to clear up.

Can anyone help me solve this mystery, or has anyone experienced similar conditions?
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I have also been experiencing the same problem for a year already though the infection went off for a few months, but I don't know what's really going on. Now it's back and it is so uncomfortable! What's the best medication for this. Somebody help us.
Blank
I have also been experiencing the same problem for a year already though the infection went off for a few months, but I don't know what's really going on. Now it's back and it is so uncomfortable! What's the best medication for this. Somebody help us.