Dermatology Community
Itchy on my penis head
About This Community:

This forum is for questions regarding Dermatology issues, such as: rashes, acne, birthmarks, skin infections, rosacea, and general skin care.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Itchy on my penis head

Dear Doctor,

Since more than a week, I feel itchy on my penis head skin and the below area of the head. I believe this was caused by me being lazy to cleanly wash my penis directly after having sex (Yes, I am now regret that). This is my first time I got this situation. When I first noticed it (after woke up in the morning), I saw some kind of white thing like a peeled skins or soft tissues. I immediately clean my penis. Most of the white thing were washed away. I thought it will be OK. But, I feel itchy and not all white thing were gone. So, I was panicked and I took antibiotics (amoxicillin pils), 4 times (once a day). Then I started to feel the side effect of this antibiotic, bitter in my tongue, dry skin in the edge of my lips, and bit dry in my penis skin. Now, my penis is still itchy and the head is a bit red. Probably skin iritation, I don't know. I wash it cleanly with warm water every several hours.
Could you please help? What kind of treatment or cream or else to cure this?
Thank you.  
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Hi,

This is a condition called balanitis.Balanitis is inflammation of the glans (glands) penis. Lack of aeration and irritation because of smegma and discharge surrounding the glans (glands) penis causes inflammation and edema.More common in uncircumcised males.

It is usually caused by poor hygiene in uncircumcised men. The inflammation can be due to infection, harsh soaps, or failure to properly rinse soap off while bathing.
One common organism associated with balanitis is a yeast known as Candida albicans.  Balanitis may occur because of excessive growth of Candida, due to moisture and warmth under the foreskin.