Diabetes - Type 1 Community
elderly diabetic
About This Community:

This patient support community is for questions related to juvenile diabetes including Celiac disease, depression, diabetic complications, hyperglycemia / diabetic keto-acidosis, hypoglycemia, islet cell transplantation, nutrition, parenting a diabetic child, pregnancy, pump therapy, school issues, and teens with diabetes.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

elderly diabetic

My dad is 82, and has had diabetes for a few years. My mom is his primary caregiver. In spite of numerous reassurances, she panics whenever his level goes much over 200, and really freaked out tonight when it was 450. He's on a sliding scale for insulin, and these numbers invariably come down. Am I right in telling her not to worry if he feels OK and the level does come down within a day?
Related Discussions
Hello mamacox,

I am a volunteer here, so please keep in mind that I am NOT a medical professional.

I am a mother of a child (10-1/2 years old) who was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of 3.  

So, your dad has type 2, but was put on insulin to manage his diabetes?  Keep in mind that I am familiar with type 1.

As a mother of a child living with diabetes, I can say that I do not like to see 400 blood sugars either, however, there are times when there is not a logical explanation for highs and lows and we have to realize that this is what diabetes looks like.  

If your dad and mom notice a pattern of highs such as highs that occur during the same time of day for a few days in a row, they should bring it to the attention of your dad's doc so he/she can make the necessary changes to your father's insulin dosage (schedule).