Diabetes - Type 1 Community
flying with diabetes
About This Community:

This patient support community is for questions related to juvenile diabetes including Celiac disease, depression, diabetic complications, hyperglycemia / diabetic keto-acidosis, hypoglycemia, islet cell transplantation, nutrition, parenting a diabetic child, pregnancy, pump therapy, school issues, and teens with diabetes.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

flying with diabetes

Over the upcoming holiday, I'll be flying. (for the first time) The airline I'm flying with says on their website people with medical devices have to notify them 48 hours in advance? (something having to do with electronic interferance) I'm a pump user, and I'm not sure this applies to me or not... I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me in general about all of this, I'm a nervous newbie. My flight will be 3 hrs long,should I keep all my insulin/test strips on my carry on? (so heat won't be a factor) Thanks.
Related Discussions
Hello Surfin',
I'm a volunteer and a pumper and thought I'd jump in to answer your question.  The TSA (Transportation Safety Admin) folks who do the security searches before folks get too far into our airports are now very well-versed with insulin pump users.  I fly a fair amount and never call ahead.

They will NOT want you to remove your pump once they realize it's a pump.  Occasionally, something thinks it looks like a pager and we have a few chuckles, but I never remove it.  Pumps work fine on airplanes.  Occasionally, if I'm bolusing or doing something with my pump during the flight the stewardess mistakes it for a cell phone or some such & I just clarify.