Diabetes - Type 1 Community
pump mobility and comfort
About This Community:

This patient support community is for questions related to juvenile diabetes including Celiac disease, depression, diabetic complications, hyperglycemia / diabetic keto-acidosis, hypoglycemia, islet cell transplantation, nutrition, parenting a diabetic child, pregnancy, pump therapy, school issues, and teens with diabetes.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

pump mobility and comfort

Hey,

I was wondering about the pump.  Is it recommended for someone that is generally active(playing sports, weightlifting)?  are they comfortable?  Where do you plug(inject) it in?  Is it effective?  Do you sleep with it?  what kind of insulin does it pump?  

I have moe questions but thats all i could think of now.

Thanks in advance..
Related Discussions
Hello.  I'm not a medical professional, just the parent of a kid with diabetes.  And my kid happens to be on the pump, and know a lot of people on a pump.  Yes, it is great for anyone.  Athletes wear the pump, usually except when they are competing.  Jason Johnson is a major league pitcher who wears his pump during games.  My daughter plays soccer and wears her pump while playing.  But we know someone who is a free safety on my alma mater's football team, and he doesn't wear his pump, but he does leave his infusion site in during the game.  Lifting weights and working out can actually be easier on the pump.  The reason is that with a pump you get insulin in two ways, with basals and boluses.  Basals are a fixed rate that you get all day long, and that rate can change based upon time of day.  Boluses are what you get for meals or corrections for highs.  With taking a long acting insulin, if you work out hard you cannot stop that long acting insulin from working, and that can create the conditions for a low.  With a pump you can stop that basal rate so that the exercise you do (which causes you to use up carbs without the need for in