Digestive Disorders / Gastroenterology Expert Forum
Positive Hemoccult
About This Forum:

This is a place to ask questions about digestive problems and receive a personal answer from a highly qualified doctor. You will also find support from other members who share your interest in digestive disorders. Digestive Disorders include: Anal and Rectal problems, Barrett’s Esophagus, Bleeding in the Stomach and Digestive Tract, Constipation, Crohn’s Disease, Gastritis, GERD, Heartburn, Proctitis, Short Bowel Syndrome, Ulcers, Whipple’s Disease, Zollinger-Ellison Syndrome (and many more).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Positive Hemoccult

I have been having stomach issues since Dec 2005... I'm a 40 yo female with no significant med or surgical history. I'm a nurse practitoner, and quite possibly thinking/worrying, and need to run this by someone else.

Endoscopy , abdominal u/s,stool cultures, blood work, ovarian u/s...all negtive.
Colonoscopy in April revealed :

a. indefinite for dysplasia
b. inflammation consistent with inflammatory bowel disease/ulcearive colitis
c. acute cryptitis, moderate to severe colitis

the GI report said : cecum, acending (ascending).hepatic,transverse,splenis,descending,sigmoid all normal. Proctitis appearing in the rectum, it was arythematous, and exudative consistent with UC vs proctitis.

Since then, I've been taking 1000mg Canasa suppositories.

The urgency/rectal pressure has gone away.

The blood however, is still present, but only if I strain, or if the bowel movement is more on the formed/hard side.
If I strain, I will grt bright red blood on the stool, as a strek or 2, and maybe a bit on the toilet paper as well.

If the stool is formed , I'll just get a streak or 2 on the stool itself.

Sometime,  it will even be serosanguinous, not bright red.

I don't have, and never did have diarrhea.