Divorce & Breakups Community
Sleeping in my moms bed, is this bad?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to divorce, breakups, anger, child custody, child support, conflict resolution, co-parenting, dating, depression, friends and family, legal, pets, property issues, remarriage, spousal support, and visitation.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Sleeping in my moms bed, is this bad?

I'm 16 years old, and a junior in high school. My parents got divorced when I was a freshman. About 14 years old. My dad got kicked out, and my mom, my younger brother and I, were living by ourselves. We both started sleeping in her bed. I had always been scared of the dark. But had been sleeping in my room with ease for months. For almost a year I slept on the couch watching tv until I fell asleep because I was so scared. But that was long before the divorce. Anyway, we moved to my aunts house for the winter, and I started sleeping alone again. But then I started sleeping in my moms bed again. My brother was too. But there was a fewonths he slept alone though. But now were both sleeping with her again. I've read before that kids of divorced parents sometimes sleep in their parents beds afterward. Is this going to screw me up once I'm older? I feel like an idiot. I just can't sleep in my own bed. I really just don't understand why.
Tags: Divorce, Sleeping difficulty, 16 years old, scared of the dark, help me
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303
Anxiety can do funny things.  I once read that when Julia Roberts first went to New York, she stayed at one of her siblings' apartment when her sibling was gone, and she stayed up all night every night and slept in the day, she was so scared.