Divorce & Breakups Community
ex husband neglectful of kids needs
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to divorce, breakups, anger, child custody, child support, conflict resolution, co-parenting, dating, depression, friends and family, legal, pets, property issues, remarriage, spousal support, and visitation.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

ex husband neglectful of kids needs

I have 11 year old twin daughters and have been divorced for 10 years. My ex husband is not an evil person, however, in my opinion he lacks basic parenting skills. I also believe he may have a mental condition they affects his ability to feel empathy toward others, though I am not a doctor and can't say for sure, and it may just be that he's chooses not to care about others' feelings.  I know he loves our children on some level, but he consistently puts his needs before theirs and is very critical and dismissive if they have interests other than his own. For example, we have arguments often if they want to play a sport, go to a school dance, sleep over at a friends house or other activities that I feel are typical for their age and healthy for them. His argument is that these activities "cut into his personal time" and that he doesn't like sports and doesn't feel he should have to go watch them play when he could be doing something he finds more enjoyable. They are afraid to express their feelings to him about anything they think he might disagree with, including simple things like the kind of music they listen to. They have expressed to me that if they say or do something he disagrees with they fear he won't love them or want to see them. They adopt different personalities when he is around. Most of his actions are hurtful but not dangerous, but there have been times that he has failed to pick them up from an activity because he was "busy talking on the phone" while they waited alone outside and scared (they called me a