Dogs Community
Chihuahua with Cushing Disease--How do you let go???
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding your pet dogs!

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Chihuahua with Cushing Disease--How do you let go???

I have a 15+ year old chihuahua with Cushing disease. Extreme thirst, frequent urination--even now urinating on himself. Even if taken outside every hour sometimes he cannot even raise his leg and urinates on himself. He also urinates on himself while lying down. He has the "pot belly" and has gained from 12 lbs up 17 lbs---He is the older, larger type of chihuahua. I have to pick him up to get up steps and sometimes now it must hurt him because he tries to bite me when I lift him up. He also has hair loss, some diarrhea, thin skin with some bruising. My question is "How do you let go?" I have been a nurse for 20+ years so I certainly have been around death--and even prayed for death to come to suffering patients but this is SO different!!! I know in my heart that it IS time but I feel as if I am playing GOD and maybe it is a sin. I also feel that Peanut has trusted me all(most) of his life and I am going to take him somewhere where his life is snubbed out as routine as simply giving a rabies injection. Any insight from anybody that has been though this would help greatly. Thanks in advance!!
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank