Dysautonomia (Autonomic Dysfunction) Community
POTS
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Dysautonomia (Autonomic Dysfunction) including: Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), neurocardiogenic syncope, mitral valve prolapse dysautonomia, pure autonomic failure, autonomic instability and others.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

POTS

I have POTS and lately my Bp has gone really high causing me to have vision problems and concentration problems among other things. I am new to getting diagnosed with POTS. I do not faint but get really close. I actually have never fainted in my life before. I get really dizzy and lihht headed. Does anyone else have this problem too and any suggestions to make it better?
875426_tn?1325532016
Here's the forum you want to post your question on:
http://www.medhelp.org/forums/Dysautonomia-Autonomic-Dysfunction/show/266

I too have P.O.T.S.  and don't faint, but get light headed and have had spikes in blood pressure.  I don't think the blood pressure spikes are what cause my vision problems though.  Vision problems are a part of P.O.T.S. certainly though (I've had my vision go grey or mostly white.)

When you were in the diagnostic phase of things, since you have blood pressure spikes as well as tachycardia, did the do a fasting plasma free metanephrines test to rule out a rare tumor called pheochromocytoma which can emit high levels of catecholamines and cause these types of symptoms?

I got that ruled out for me, but was diagnosed with P.O.T.S. with the tilt table test.  I also have I.S.T., which means I also can have tachycardia inappropriately while at rest, not just the big rises in heart rate I can get with the upright position.