Ear, Nose & Throat Community
Throat Swells When I Smoke Marijuana
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to ear, nose and throat issues, ear infections, nasal polyps, sore throats, and swollen glands.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Throat Swells When I Smoke Marijuana

First off please don't tell me to just "Stop smoking Marijuana" I already have, the problem still exsits and I'm not Allergic either

I'm a 23 year old Caucasian Male in good Health other than this condition. I have been using Marijuana for over 10 years, the first seven were very heavy use 3+ times per day. The only big Medical Condition I've ever had is an Inguinal Hernia which I had bilateral open surgery on a year ago.

My condition started about three years ago. I thought I had swallowed a portion of a toothpick (about half). I forced myself to throw up with a pencil, I have never thrown up like I did then and I did this for about 30 minutes several times. This is what I believe triggered the condition or it may be coincidental.

From then on I've had a weird feeling in my throat and particularly on the right side and it gets much much worse when I smoke Marijuana. Something I believe that may have to do with this also I had a stint of about 9 months - 1 year where I had maybe 5 TERRIBLE cases of a Sore Throat, it would appear out of nowhere and develop overnight. These were the worst Sore Throats I've ever experienced, I would squint in pain every time I would swallow. However I had no symptoms of being sick at all (temperature, aches, lack of energy...), just the Sore Throat however I've not had one of these in about a year and it was about 3-6 months of having this condition before the Sore Throats happened. They would go away after 5-7 days and I never used antibiotics or went to the Doctor for them.