Epilepsy Community
i have a 2 yr.old daug .she has had 5 febrile seizures in the past 2 y...
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to epilepsy, safety, school issues, and transportation issues.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

i have a 2 yr.old daug .she has had 5 febrile seizures in the past 2 yrs. all with a high temp

doctors say that its just febrile seizures , now i had checked out. she had a EEG and a brain wave  done.  it came out abnormal. i 'm so afraid that it is epilepsy. i would like someone to talk to more about info on this.
Related Discussions
-5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I'm not a doctor, but here is my understanding:

Everyone has a "seizure threshold," above which they will begin seizing.  For most of the population, that threshold is very high (they need an extremely high temperature or quick rise in temperature, low oxygen, etc.), so they can go an entire life without a seizure.

For some, the threshold is slightly lower.  This is the category people with febrile seizures fall into:  they may begin to seize as their body temperature rises quickly.  The exact threshold is different for everyone, of course.  My son has a very low one and will seize with a mild fever of 99.2.  

For others, the threshold is so low that other factors can cause them to seize as well.  In that case, the brain may get into a "pattern" of sending out abnormal electrical discharges even when the person is not clinically having a seizure. Thus, with an abnormal EEG, a future seizure is much more likely to occur under the conditions specific to that person's threshold.    That doesn't necessarily mean the person has epilepsy, but it may be more likely than if the EEG had come back normal.