Aa
A
A
Close
Flu-like symptoms after exercise
I love running, using aerobic equipment and lifting weights; however, I ususually experience flu-like symtoms for days, sometimes weeks, later. For years now, I have felt as if a virus surfaces in me everytime I exercise.
My PCP is unhelpful.
My ENT recommended L-Lysine which I have been taking with a multi-vitamin everyday for a year.
Any suggestions?
Cancel
323 Answers
Page 17 of 17
I am a physician and noticed there are a lot of posts here with people who actually have different problems (though overlapping symptoms).  Some are talking about thyroid problems, some are talking about food allergies and celiac, others histamine intolerance and yet others chronic EBV and autoimmune symptoms plus CFS.  I'm sure all are correct for their individual conditions.  

I have had similar symptoms to the CFS/EBV camp - primarily "cold-like symptoms" for 15 years on and off apparently induced by exercise, exertion or strangely enough, alcohol.  Ironically one of the "treatments" for CFS is routine exercise!