Eye Care Community
Multifocal IOLs, incl. Tecnis; & ocular surface disease
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to eye care, cataracts, glaucoma, retinal detachment, eye infections, misaligned eyes, intra-ocular implants, refractive surgery (LASIK and CK), glasses, contact lenses, amblyopia, eye injuries, dry eyes, ocular allergy, eye pain and discomfort, pediatric eye disorders, eyelid and tearduct surgery, poor eyesight, and eye surgery.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Multifocal IOLs, incl. Tecnis; & ocular surface disease

I plan cataract extractions soon, one eye at a time.  I'm a practicing physician who uses electronic record with small font that canNOT be enlarged.   From research & ophthalmologist's suggestion (operates at hospital & makes no profit on any lens), I'm considering Tecnis multifocal.  I'm aware of all the multifocal, including Tecnis problems reported.  However, would appreciate ophthalmologists' comments on whether or not they are hearing (by posters here, in practice, or at meetings) as to results with the latest version of Tecnis lens.  I need intermediate vision (preferably without glasses) is important.  Also, having enough near vision to examine my own eye for occasional surface filaments, debris or stray eyelash, & to apply eye drops is important (see below)  is critical, even though I I don't mind glasses for near reading.

I have dry eyes and allergies, already on meds (Restasis, artificial tears, oral & eye antihistamines, prn Alrex).  My ophthalmologist's associate (sidewalk consult) said multifocals are ill-advised with ocular surface disease, though my personal ophthalmologist offered me the multifocal (Tecnis or ReStor); at another appointment soon I'll ask this, but would appreciate your insight.  Thank you.

233488_tn?1310696703