Eye Care Community
Question for Dr. Hagan (or other physicians with eye floaters)
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to eye care, cataracts, glaucoma, retinal detachment, eye infections, misaligned eyes, intra-ocular implants, refractive surgery (LASIK and CK), glasses, contact lenses, amblyopia, eye injuries, dry eyes, ocular allergy, eye pain and discomfort, pediatric eye disorders, eyelid and tearduct surgery, poor eyesight, and eye surgery.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Question for Dr. Hagan (or other physicians with eye floaters)

Hello Dr.(s),

My name is Niko and I'm a 22 y/o pre-med student from Vancouver, Canada. About 7 months ago I became an eye floater spectator ('sufferer' doesn't fit me) and since then, reading literature on the condition has become my minor obsession. Even though I realize a vitrectomy is a current 'solution', I don't like the idea of possible permanent sequelae and I'm not very fond of the idea of possibly having cataract in my 30s. Especially since there aren't fully accommodating iols on the market yet, maybe if NuLens or FluidVision come out I'll reassess. My eyes are healthy, with 20/20, except for dots, cobwebs, and strands dancing around. So for now I'll live with them but lately they have become an increasing distraction while studying for my MCAT and going through the application process.

Dr. Hagan, I've read on one of your posts that you have floaters (a Weiss ring too I believe) but you've had them since you were younger that's why I'm addressing this question to you or any other of your colleagues you know have persistent vitreous opacities.

My questions to you Dr's are:
i) How did you cope with them through school and of course med school?

ii) What is your outlook on them? Or how can I have a more positive outlook other than 'it's simply a natural part of human degeneration' which leaves me feeling tolerably depressed.