Gastroenterology Community
Stomach problems after gastric bypass
About This Community:

This forum is for questions regarding Gastroenterology issues such as Acid Reflux (GERD), Barretts Esophagus, Colitis, Colon/Bowel Disorders, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis/ Diverticulosis, Digestive Disorders and Stomach Pain.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Stomach problems after gastric bypass

I had gastric bypass surgery in mid-January 2010.  I'm 60 and weighed 252 at that time.  I'm a retired professional but I do consulting and adjunct college teaching.  
I attempted to go through the various eating/drinking "stages" following the surgery but had problems almost immediately.  Getting any food or liquid down has been uncomfortable, at a minimum, ranging to quite painful - and the discomfort/pain can last hours!  I'm now beyond the last stage and should be able to eat/drink most anything (except sugar, etc.) and I can barely eat even a forkful of food without pain.  I'm miserable, angry and I couldn't care less about my weight loss, 50+ lbs.  I can't eat or drink without pain!  I want to be able to enjoy food again, even at the much smaller amounts with my smaller stomach!
I've had two endoscopies in the last 4 or 5 weeks - they showed my stomach was "red", "irritated" and I was prescribed Carafate and Previcid after the first endoscopy, then Aciphex after the second one.  Nothing helps.  Nothing has changed.
I keep thinking I should have the surgery reversed.  I understand that's difficult but do-able - especially with a surgeon that specializes in gastric bypass reversals.  But that scares me because I understand it doesn't always work.  Again, I really don't care much about the weight loss - Even when I don't eat or drink anything, my stomach is always hurting a little - always!