Gastroenterology Community
Sudden onset bloody stool
About This Community:

This forum is for questions regarding Gastroenterology issues such as Acid Reflux (GERD), Barretts Esophagus, Colitis, Colon/Bowel Disorders, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis/ Diverticulosis, Digestive Disorders and Stomach Pain.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Sudden onset bloody stool

I am a 35 y/o male.
I had a sudden onset of bloody stools.  The blood is bright red, and seems to partialy cover the feces.  There seems to be a fairly good amount of blood on the stool and on the toilet paper.  I have no pain, and have not been constipated.  I have no cramping, no feelings of incomplete voiding, and can pass flatulence.  I am rather worried since I work in the medical field and a little medical knowledge can be a dangerous thing.  I also dont want to be a hypercondriac. Please advise.
Related Discussions
3 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
If you have bloody stool, call your doctor now. You may need to go to the ER.
Blank

I agree with the previous posting - rectal bleeding is never normal and should always be investigated.  You could type in rectal bleeding to google/yahoo etc and you will find numerous postings that describe the causes/symptoms/treatment of rectal bleeding so that you are better informed when you discuss the matter with your doctor.

As teacher-lady suggests, if the bleeding is severe (more than ~ 200 mls on one occasion) then I suggest you regard this as an emergency.

regards
Morecambe
Blank