Gastroenterology Community
Unexplained biliary dilatation
About This Community:

This forum is for questions regarding Gastroenterology issues such as Acid Reflux (GERD), Barretts Esophagus, Colitis, Colon/Bowel Disorders, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis/ Diverticulosis, Digestive Disorders and Stomach Pain.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Unexplained biliary dilatation

About 18 months ago I had a bout of burning retrosternal chest pain which spread across my chest, to my abdomen and shoulders. It was not typical of the burning pain associated with heartburn - this was much more severe and widespread. After it persisted for some hours I thought discretion was called for, given the effect on raising both my pulse and BP, and ended up in CCU. I should add that as I am a doctor I was pretty certain the pain was not cardiac, hence the delay. This happened again several times over the next few weeks - twice with my ending up in CCU. (I would have gone more often, but it was becoming embarrassing). All bloods and ECGs (EKG's to you colonials) were always normal. However I went through the works - angiogram (20% blockage of R coronary - no change from 3 years earlier); gamma scan of heart (reversible filling defect under stress); ultrasound - nothing; endoscopy (hiatus hernia - I knew about that, it was diagnosed 20 years ago). So it was put down to GORD (sorry GERD) and I upped the Lansoprazole to maximum. Didn't help that much and I was generally somewhat unwell for the next 8 - 9 months, during which time I had several more bouts of this mysterious burning chest pain. I then had further investigations. Heart - OK, apart from that minimal angina if I tried to walk at the speed I did when I was 40 (I'm now 70). However an abdominal ultrasound showed some kidney cysts (pretty much normal for someone my age) but it also showed a dilated common bile duct. This definitely put the wind up me as the most common cause of this is either stones (no sy