Gynecology / Women's Health Expert Forum
I think I have a hormonal imbalance, what should my next step be?
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding gynecology issues such as: Cervical Disorders, Colposcopy, Cramps, Cystitis, Fallopian Tube Disorders, Menstruation, Ovarian Disorders, PAP Test, Pelvic Exam, PID, PMS, Surgery, Tests, Ultrasound, Uterine Disorders, Vaginal Disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

I think I have a hormonal imbalance, what should my next step be?

Hi! TY for reading.

Here are my stats: I'm a 27-year-old female and in great health. I'm 5'5'' and 125 pounds. I eat 95% clean (lean protein, veggies, healthy fats, and complex carbs) and do strenuous workouts 5-6 days a week. When I was 20, I had an malignant ovarian tumor called a dysgermenoma which was removed with surgery. No chemo or radiation was needed. I have half of a remaining ovary now.

I was on birth control from the time I was 16 to 18 and again from 19-24. For the past three years, since getting off birth control, I have had bleeding with intercourse. My obgyn checked for cancer, pollups and cysts with no results. She assured me it was fine. However, in the last year, I have had more consistent bleeding with intercourse (pretty much every time), but in the last year, I have had bleeding or red discharge from the vaginal area with my bowel movements. This is less frequent, but when it happens, there is a "tugging" feeling inside my lower abdomen. It is also somewhat uncomfortable to have intercourse. I do have regular, but very heavy and painful periods.