HIV - Prevention Expert Forum
Lambskin Condoms
About This Forum:

This forum is limited to prevention of HIV and to safe sex in general. All questions will be answered by H. Hunter Handsfield, M.D. or Edward W Hook, MD.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Lambskin Condoms

I dated a woman of unknown status recently briefly. We had intercourse maybe a total of 6-8 times. She had a latex allergy so we used lambskin condoms. I didnt notice the warning on the box about there being no HIV protection. I've never used them before and was ignorant. I don't even think SHE knows about the lack of HIV protection.  She has used them with an unknown number of partners. However, she is from a very rural low risk area (northern NH). A couple of questions.

1) Should I bother being tested? I'm a mathematical person by nature and understand the odds are probably minimal. Its been 6 weeks at this point since last contact.

2) Whats the deal with lambskin? Did I get any protection? I know now that the pores are theoretically large enough to pass the virus but there has to be at least some reduced risk?

Thanks
Related Discussions
239123_tn?1267651214
You ask an interesting and important question, but one that hasn't come up very often on the forum.  I'm happy to address latex (or polyurethane) versus natural membrane (e.g., "lambskin") condoms.  The quick answers to your specific questons are 1) I see no need for HIV testing in this circumstance and 2) I agree with your common-sense conclusion that "there has to be at least some reduced risk" -- probably a lot of reduced risk.