HIV Prevention Community
STDs and standard testing
About This Community:

If you believe you have been exposed to HIV and want help to judge your risk, would like advice about HIV testing, or have questions about the effectiveness of condoms or risks associated with specific sexual practices, this is the site for you.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

STDs and standard testing

I am a college student currently investigating the standard STD testing procedures for a biology paper.  When someone is concerned that they have been exposed to a sexually transmitted disease and ask a doctor to give them a general STD test, which STDs do they typically test for?  I'm particularly curious because of a past experience I had.  After being exposed to what I feared may have been an infected needle, I went Kaiser to get an HIV test.  I told the medical professional my story and assumed that, in addition to the HIV test, they would test for all other possible STDs.  A few weeks later I was notified that the test had come out negative.  After a few months went by, I received a called from Kaiser to notify me that I had tested positive for HPV.  Though I was very upset, I told my partner and we decided all we could do was acclearn to live with it.  A few months after that, my partner contacted me to say he was told by his doctor he had herpes. I didn't understand why this wouldn't have come up in my first test.  Neither my partner nor I had been with anyone else.  I finally went in to test specifically for herpes and found out that I was, indeed, infected.  Since then, I've researched HVP and herpes more.  It's alarming how wide-spread these diseases are, though many people have no clue they've contracted them.  I'm guessing HPV is a part of a standard STD screening, but why not herpes?  Am I right in thinking you have to request a herpes test specifically?  Could the spread of these diseases [particularly in young adults] be slowed by more encouragement f