Hair Loss (Alopecia) Community
Birth control ruined my life! SOS
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Hair Loss (Alopecia).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Birth control ruined my life! SOS

I am new at this but I have desperately been searching for an answer to what's going on with my body. My story is long but please, take a few min to read it.

I'm 21 years old, I started taking loestrin fe 24 when I was 18. Everything was perfect but after 2 years  my body was over powering the Loestrin and my cycle began to get heavier. I talked to my obgyn and she suggested to up the estrogen doze and prescribed me to low Ogestrel.

At first, I lost 10 lbs on low Ogestrel but that didn't last long. I coud tell there was a decrease in my sex drive and I was being a lot more emotional but nothing to be alarmed about. After two months of being on it, I took the brown pills and had a major breakout all through my chest. So in order to avoid any bad breakouts again, I purposely skipped my period by skipping the brown pills and starting a new pack. That's when my life whent to hell.

I gained 20 lbs in 5 months. I was loosing so much hair I would clog up my shower. I would suddenly have hot flashes then throw up immediately after. I was constantly sick. My immune system dropped to the floor. My vyvance wasnt working the way it had before...almost as if my adrenelal glands were shocked. I became miserable.However, I never put two and two together.. I just thought it was my poor "college kid" lifestyle. There were a couple of nights when i had excruciating pain in my right arm and in my chest... The pressure was unbelievable, I seriously thought I was about to have a heart attack. That's when I decided to stop the birth control immediately.