Head & Traumatic Brain Injury Community
Cat Scan
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Head & Traumatic Brain Injuries.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Cat Scan

I was hit on the head back on July 2 with a pvc pole and on july 24 i went in for  cat scan,the results showed nothing,but about a week after the cat scan i started having alot of dizziness,I do have very bad anxiety and stressed so over the hit............my question is are cat scans pretty acurate...or should I be worrried that it ddint show something/
Related Discussions
1020587_tn?1273826923
CAT scans are accurate, but like all technology, if pictures are taken at the wrong angel, lighting, etc, things may not show up.  I would recommend that you request an MRI - which has the same issues, but is better than a CAT scan.  

The dizziness and anxiety are definitely a sign that there could be more wrong. You may have a mild brain injury.  I'm no professional, but as a survivor of TBI, I know that symptoms can begin in this way.  Not to worry you.  It is likely that there may not be anything obvious that is damaged, but injury can happen to the brain on a microscopic level that can't be picked up with today's diagnostic imaging technology. I guess we're just not "there" yet with being able to pick up on the tiny things.  However, I would recommend that you seek out a neurologist and a neuropsychologist.  Talk to your family doctor.  

The dizziness may slowly settle down. You may find that you have balance issues though. Keep a journal. Monitor your symptoms every day and then have a look after a month of recording, and write down the things that happen most regularly.  For example, set up a series of questions to ask yourself at the end of each day (to make it easy) like:
-pain levels and where you are hurting
-any cognitive issues (such as concentration, attention, organization, learning etc)