Heart Disease Community
Hospital Recovery
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to angina, angioplasty, arrhythmia, bypass surgery, cardiomyopathy, coronary artery disease, defibrillator, heart attack, heart disease, mitral valve, pacemaker, PAD, stenosis, and stress tests.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Hospital Recovery

Hi everyone, im new to all this stuff so gimmie a break hah, anyways my dad is into his 2nd day after open heart surgery. He had 6 bypass's if im not mistaken. The problem is that it seems like he panics when they wake him up after anesthesia and try to let him breathe on his own. I don't know about this stuff, but when he wakes up he seems like hes a turtle on his back. He's squirms and pushs and kicks and wants to get up and its really hard to watch because he looks like hes in pain... Is this normal? Some info on him to help you guys to help me is this: he has been a smoker for most of his life, he drinks occasionally (but does so a lot when he does drink) and has a history of heart issues. They told me that today was goign to be the day he was probably going to be able to breathe on his own but when they turned off the breathing machine he seems like he was having difficulty breathing...  Does that breathing tube make it difficult to inhale? They assured me it was normal but i have a feeling they were telling what i wanted to hear and not so much the truth... Also i would like to know about any problems concerning catheders that are hard to spot at first glance. (the reason being is it seems that thats the first place he seems to try to reach for when he is coming OUT of anesthesia. He can't reach it though because his hands are tied down so he doesn't pull the breathing tube out...) Also i would like to know why he shivers or shakes a little bit when hes coming out of anesthesia, is that normal? ANY INFO WOULD HELP SORRY FOR THE BLOCK OF TEXT IM JUST CONCERNED