Heart Disease Community
Possible AV fistula
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to angina, angioplasty, arrhythmia, bypass surgery, cardiomyopathy, coronary artery disease, defibrillator, heart attack, heart disease, mitral valve, pacemaker, PAD, stenosis, and stress tests.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Possible AV fistula

My husband and I are having a very hard time getting a proper diagnosis for his heart murmur.  Here is a little background:

My husband will be 28 in December, he is 6'1 and weighs 215 lbs.  He is active (in the USAF, doing PT at least three times/week - running 2.5 miles, and then doing push ups and sit ups).  

In March, I discovered he had a heart murmur.  I am a nursing student, so I have had lots of practice listening to heart sounds, and after hearing norm after norm, when you hear something "funky" you know it just isn't right.  Anyway, we were watching a movie, I had my head on his chest, and heard this weird sound.  I ran and grabbed my stethoscope and listened.

It sounds almost like a seagull.  
It is continuous with S1 and S2.
There is no S3 or S4.  No rubs.  
It sounds sort of wheezy.  
It is NOT his lungs.
It is at the right sternal border, about the second intercostal space.
It changes with the Valsalva Maneuver - gets louder while straining, disappears once relaxed, and takes about 5-6 heart beats to come back, and comes back in a decrescendo pattern...softer to louder.

It gets louder with inspiration
Position changes are variable.  When I first discovered it, it was louder while supine, but now it seems to be louder while sitting.  But it is still very variable, changing from hour to hour, day to day.  Sometimes it's so faint, I can hardly hear it until he changes position or takes a deep breath ( I have been keeping a very CLOSE eye on this!)