Heart Rhythm Community
Precordial Repolarization Disturbance in 5 year old
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to heart rhythm issues, arrhythmia, irregular heartbeat, implanted defibrillators, pacemakers, and tachycardia.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Precordial Repolarization Disturbance in 5 year old

Hello There!!
My 5 year old daughter recently started complaining about chest pain. Her pediatrician discovered a heart murmur and sent her to a Pediatric cardiologist. The cardiologist decided to look into it further. She had an ECG yesterday. The reading said: sinus arrythmia, marked precordial repolarization disturbance. What does this mean. Should I be worried?? He has also ordered an Echocardigram but it is not scheduled until a month from now.
Related Discussions
995271_tn?1312416925
I’m not an EKG expert but I think I can shed some light on these terms.

Sinus arrhythmia is usually completely normal.    It just means that as she takes a breath her heart speeds up a bit.  When she exhales her heart slows down.  Nature programmed us this way to enhance gas exchange as we breathe.  

I haven’t heard of precordial repolarization disturbance before and surprisingly I’m not seeing much from googling the term.  What I know is, the precordial part of the body is the area located over the heart and lower chest.   What I think the marked precordial repolarization disturbance means is:

1.  The disturbance was seen in the leads on your child’s precordial region of the body which means it was over the heart, lower chest area.  This is always noted in EKGs because the issues they see can happen in any of the 12 leads placed around the body.  Important diagnostic info can be gleamed by knowing which lead the issue is seen.  For your child it was seen on the chest leads.