Hepatitis C Community
HCV RNA not detected
About This Community:

This forum is for questions about medical issues and research aspects of Hepatitis C such as, questions about being newly diagnosed, questions about current treatments, information and participation in discussions about research studies and clinical trials related to Hepatitis. If you would like to communicate with other people who have been touched by Hepatitis, please visit our new Hepatitis Social/Living with Hepatitis forum

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

HCV RNA not detected

I have research this and still do not understand it.  I have been treating HepC since March 2009.  At that time my count was 14 million.  3 months later, it was 185.  Just tested last week at it was <43, less than 43.  My doctor said last month if the count was not zero, he would stop treatment.  I go see him tomorrow but asked the lab for my results before I go so I could learn a little more before seeing him.  If my count is now <43, and beneath that is states "HCV RNA not detected" doesn't that mean that the <43 is just as good as a zero?  I do not want to stop the meds.   I suffer from every side effect known and some that man isn't even aware of yet, but if continuing with the meds will do what they are suppose to do, shouldn't I demand that I stay of them if the doctor says to stop.

I have truly learned a lot from this site and have even been able to help others.
Related Discussions
10 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
If you are a genotype 1 you need to complete 1 year of treatment. If you are genotype 2 or 3, you can probably stop now.
Blank
Sounds like your at week 24 ? Your odds would be very low if not und at week 24 and most doctors would stop tx. Even if you are und extending might be of help.

Maybe time to step back and talk with your Doc about your SVR odds and the new PIs in trial. Your response sounds alot like mine on my first tx........... Good luck

Can
Blank
9648_tn?1290094807