Hepatitis C Community
About This Community:

This forum is for questions about medical issues and research aspects of Hepatitis C such as, questions about being newly diagnosed, questions about current treatments, information and participation in discussions about research studies and clinical trials related to Hepatitis. If you would like to communicate with other people who have been touched by Hepatitis, please visit our new Hepatitis Social/Living with Hepatitis forum

Font Size:
Blank Blank


I was resently diagnosed with NASH.  I am 63, very seldom drink alcohol & within normal weight limits.  My liver biopsy came back stating:  Grade of Portal Inflammatory activity 2 out of 4; Grade of Lobular Inflammatory activity 2 out of 4; Stage of Fibrosis 3 out of 4 & 5% macrovesticular steatosis.  Can you explain the "Grades" for me.  My doctor seems rather concerned.  I feel fine except I have gradually become more exhausted & my platelet count has dropped to 104,000 which is causing a lot of bruising.  

Do you have any suggestions?  What is the usual outcome?
Related Discussions
I have been looking into this lately because my sister was also recently diagnosed with NASH-she doesn't drink alcolhol, but is overweight. I haven;t found much information here on MedHelp, but google "fatty liver" and you will get some good information.  From what I have read, diet and excercise are probably the first things to address.  

It is a good idea to see a hepatologist-or at least a GI doctor.  The science of liver disease is constantly changing as new treatments become available and primary care/internal medicine physicians are not always up on the newest protocols.

Below is a copy of an explanation of grades and stages I found in the archives.  Altho grades are listed as letters, not numbers--this will give you a general idea.  Hope it helps :-)

Stage 1 Hepatitis -- Inflammation only (hepatitis only)
Stage 2 Hepatitis -- Some scarring (fibrosis)
Stage 3 Hepatitis -- More scarring (more fibrosis)
Stage 4 Hepatitis -- LOTS of fibrosis (cirrhosis)

Once a person gets to Stage 4/Cirrhosis, there are three grades:

Grade A -- Compensated (the liver is doing all it should despite the damage; no apparent symptoms)
Grade B -- DecompensatING (the liver is beginning to not be able to do all its functions; starting to have symptoms)
Grade C -- DecompensatED (liver failure -- the liver cannot perform its own functions; lots of symptoms)

Boils down to:
1. Stage 1 = very little fibrosis
2. Stage 2 = a little more fibrosis
3. Stage 3 = bridging fibrosis
4. Stage 4 = cirrhosis  (Grade A cirrhosis)
5. Grade B cirrhosis
6. Grade C cirrhosis (ESLD)
(Complications like Ascites appear in Grade B cirrhosis).
Post a Comment
Weight Tracker
Weight Tracker
Start Tracking Now
Hepatitis C Community Resources
RSS Expert Activity
Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm-treatable... Blank
Oct 04 by Lee Kirksey, MDBlank
The 3 Essentials to Ending Emotiona...
Sep 18 by Roger Gould, M.D.Blank
Control Emotional Eating with this ...
Sep 04 by Roger Gould, M.D.Blank