Hepatitis C Community
Side effects, and - BEWARE the steroidal rash treatment!!
About This Community:

This forum is for questions about medical issues and research aspects of Hepatitis C such as, questions about being newly diagnosed, questions about current treatments, information and participation in discussions about research studies and clinical trials related to Hepatitis. If you would like to communicate with other people who have been touched by Hepatitis, please visit our new Hepatitis Social/Living with Hepatitis forum

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Side effects, and - BEWARE the steroidal rash treatment!!

The story:
I'm a self employed artist, very active, now on wk 10 of the triple treatment.  The first 6 weeks were OK, and I was able to to keep the 'routine' going: 5 mile morning walk, 6hrs of fixing up the house (it's what an artist does these days..), and several hours of productive studio time when it became too hot to work outside.  The noticable, but tolerable effects were less 'oomph', and a shortage of breath.  After 6 weeks, the energy levels began to fall away, coinciding with an increase in the Riba rash.  At 8 weeks, went to see the Doc re. the rash, who prescribed a steroidal treatment CLOBETASOL PROPIONATE FOAM .05%.  This is where it went rapidly downhill.

24hrs after starting applications, I started experiencing INTENSE flu symptoms, chills, continual 101 fever, and horror of horrors, my face swelled up like mumps.  What followed was physically the worst 8 days of fever, sweats, dry mouth, exhaustion, bone pain, I have ever known.  Upon research, I concluded that an adverse reaction with the steroidal foam.  I have of course stopped, and 4 days later, only mild fever, face still swollen, and awful dry mouth.  Still exhausted, and now experiencing the associated 'withdrawal rash' side effect of the foam.  It is crap.