Hepatitis C Community
high ast and alt on blood test
About This Community:

This forum is for questions about medical issues and research aspects of Hepatitis C such as, questions about being newly diagnosed, questions about current treatments, information and participation in discussions about research studies and clinical trials related to Hepatitis. If you would like to communicate with other people who have been touched by Hepatitis, please visit our new Hepatitis Social/Living with Hepatitis forum

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

high ast and alt on blood test

I recently had a lot of blood work done because I have lupus and a chronic kidney disease.  My results showed the AST(SGOT) was 45H and the ALT(SGPT) was 58H.  Could you please give me some sort of reason for this?  Thank you very much.
Related Discussions
151263_tn?1243377877
I'll give it a stab, although keep in mind I'm not a doctor. Lupus is a term for generalized autoimmune disease, which you probably already know something about. As you've probably already learned, autoimmune disease is where the body's immune system basically becomes confused and starts attacking itself. Autoimmune disorders can involve attacks against various multiple organs/parts including the heart, lungs, joints, kidneys etc. They can also involve the liver, and when that happens it's called Autoimmune Hepatitis, or AIH. AIH can be very subtle in some people, whereas in others it can be very aggressive (and life threatening). AIH varies in intensity from person to person and varies over time for each person. Sometimes it can come and go, sometimes it can flare up dangerously, sometimes it can go away and never come back. If AIH is present, from what I've read its diagnosis is not always easy. But one thing they look for are certain antibodies which are indicative the immune system is attacking the liver. There's several of them including SMA, ANA and a few others that I don't remember offhand (you c