Hospice Community
Life expectency assessments
About This Community:

WELCOME TO THE HOSPICE COMMUNITY: This Patient-To-Patient Community is for discussions relating to Hospice Care. The goal of hospice care is to provide comfort, relieve physical, emotional and spiritual suffering, and to promote the dignity of terminally ill persons. Topics discussed in this community are: Bereavement Care, Coordination of Care, End of Life Care, Family Support, Home Care, Inpatient Care, Insurance Issues, Pain Control, Respite Care, Spiritual Care, Symptom Control, When to Call Hospice.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Life expectency assessments

Hi there,

I've been a hospice nurse for 15 years, what a gift to do this service. My question is whether or not it is an absolute CMS requirement to fill out a worksheet on life expectancy for a patient who has been on 2 cert. periods, has had a MD face to face within the last 2 weeks certifying eligibility and now is imminently dying. The documentation picture has been "painted" on this last recertification regarding the stage of imminent death and in the documentation the Karnofsky, ADL score and Descriptive score have been documented. The supervisor is stating that the "Life expectancy worksheet" a 5 page paper document be filled out on every patient every admit and recertification regardless of circumstances. For example, even if a new admit isn't expected to live 24 hours, this is still enforced as a "requirement for medicare"  I have read the COPS, cannot find this and have the understanding these "worksheets" are for assistance in helping to determine eligibility.   So is this documentation really  a CMS/COP requirement?  I'd love not to have to do pointless documentation when there is so much we could improve upon that would actually matter!

Thanks in advance!
1326416_tn?1370930601