Immunization & Vaccine Community
Deltoid and shoulder pain after shingles vaccine
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to immunizations and vaccines for children and adults, adverse effects, anthrax, cervical cancer, chicken pox, DPT, diphtheria, flu, haemophilus influenza, hepatitis, HPV, measles, meningococcal vaccine, MMR, mumps, passive immunizations, pertussis, pneumonia, polio, rotavirus, rubella, shingles, small pox, tetanus, travel immunizations, whooping cough, and yellow fever.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Deltoid and shoulder pain after shingles vaccine

I am a 60 year old woman who just had a physical and was advised by my physician to get the shingles vaccine. I am in good health and work out at the gym at least 5 times a week. I had no problems until after this injection. I questioned how high the injection site was (I am a nurse) but it was too late. I felt the normal bit of discomfort after the injection but that discomfort has now escalated to dull pain at rest and extreme pain during any type of lifting, particularly over my head, and noticeably uncomfortable while performing a task such as driving. I have tried to keep up with my workouts at the gym but it has just become too painful. I take Advil daily and often with no real relief. I tried to get an appointment to see my doctor and cannot see her until October! I received the injection on the 18th of April. Other stats are that I am 5'6" and weigh 121 pounds. I am only allergic to PCN. Will this pain eventually subside or am I risking it getting worse by not tending to it? Please advise. Thank you for your time.
3 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
757137_tn?1347200053
I hope you get some helpful advice. By the way, some doctors advise vitamin D over the shingles vaccine.
Blank
351246_tn?1379685732
Hi!