Infectious Diseases Community
Suffering from chicken pox ( varicella)
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Infectious Diseases,such as: MRSA, Staph, Herpes Zoster/Shingles, Varicella (chicken pox), Coxsackievirus, CMV, Foodborne/Waterborne, Meningitis, C diff and other

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Suffering from chicken pox ( varicella)

Hi there. Im in urgent need for answers. As i am already sick.
I am 26, and currently suffering from chicken pox (varicella).this is my first time, i did not have chicken pox as a child. I have been sick ( fever, intense throat pain,body ache) since 5 days now. The blisters have shown since 3 days now. I have 2 questions:

A- at first i thought that fever, throat aches etc are due to the viral infection( which i usually suffer every 2 months) only when the blisters started to show i came to know that i have chicken pox. So since 5 days i was taking antibiotic for throat infection( amoxicillin) and ibruphen for pain . The fever has gotten better ( though mild body ache comes back as the med wears off off) but my throat pain has not become better not even slightly better. Even the medicine wont make it go for a few hours. Its seems as of the medicine is not working at all for throat ache. Is it normal in chicken pox? What should i do?

B- 2 of my blisters ( one at on forehead and one at the side of my nose) has become very swollen, hard, flaky, and discharging yellow pus which had dried now makin the blisters a hard yellow flake. And only these two r paining while others only itch and are in red colour. Should i seek medical help for this or is it normal? I did scratch these two a little bit ( as i dis now at first that these are chicken pox blisers because these were the first to appear on face and they kinda has blood on it) i thought its normal pimples.