Liver Transplant Expert Forum
fatty liver grade-I
About This Forum:

Questions posted in the Liver Transplant . Forum are answered by medical professionals from The Mount Sinai Medical Center.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

fatty liver grade-I

Hi.. I am 32 yrs old and prof. by profession.
I am suffering from NASH from last 2 yrs. My USG report shows garde-I fatty liver and LFT increase in SGPT (76) and SGOT(67) levels.Surprisingly CT avdomen reads normal. I am not a drinker also and from last two yrs i take very low fatty diet and low calorieas well but i don,t fell any improvement. My blodd sugar is noram and heptiis tests are also negative. I feel lots of pain on right abdomen, fatigue and indigestion and laziness. Now i am highly depressed of this condition  and with time my hopes of recovery are fading. Can u please tell  me some solution overcome this problem
Related Discussions
517301_tn?1229801385
did you have a liver biopsy diagnosing NASH?  If not you might just have fat in the liver which will not cause long-term damage. Are you overweight?
3 Comments
Blank
No i did not had any biopsy, just based on elevated SGPT and SGOT levels and based on USG reports which shows diffuse fat infilatration in liver (grade-I). Besides, I had done all the hepatitis tests and blood sugar test also which  reads normal. For your information, I want to mention that i ,m not overweight also. My weight is just around 65kg with 5.7" height.
Kindly help me to overcome this pathetic situation.
Blank
517301_tn?1229801385
if the liver tests remain elevated i believe that a liver biopsy is warranted as this will assess how much damage the liver has incurred.Start taking vitamin E 400 IU twice daily.  Even if you are not overweight if the quality of your diet is not good, it can cause fatty liver. Try to exercise also.
Blank