Lupus Community
Is the sun our Kryptonite?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to lupus.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Is the sun our Kryptonite?

So I am newly diagnosed with Lupus.  I actually see my rheumy on Monday since she diagnosed me.  In the meantime, I have been in a flare-state for about three weeks.  I saw her last April 30th.  So, almost two months, and now I am horrible.  I am new to this, so the sun seems like an innocent thing.  I was ut last Sunday at an outdoor concert with my family and within an hour I felt like a cripple person who could barely move and my happy demeanor changed to a moody mother.  I am only 33, well 34 in a week or so.... But, how I am supposed to live in a Beach City while avoiding the sun?  Because I mean, I went from good to "I might need to go to the ER"..... there's so much more to my flare, but my concern is how to handle the sun because I have a 4 & 5 yr old who want to play outside and go to the beach.  What do I do?  THANKS.
4 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
You have to stay out of the sun, use lots of sunscreen, wear a hat and stay healthy.  Going outside and making yourself sick can not help you be the best mom you can be.  Taking care of yourself and staying healthy is more important to your kids than going to the beach.
Blank
Thanks for the suggestions!  I have no intentions of compromising my health in order to go to the beach.  I was looking for suggestions on how to handle the sun.  Thanks for that!!
Blank