Lupus Community
hypothyroid high tsh 9.7 normal t3
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to lupus.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

hypothyroid high tsh 9.7 normal t3

I have been having a lot of hypothyroid symptoms but my t3 is normal.  tsh is 9.7 and my doctor states no med adjustment.  recommended I see an endrocrinologist if i want a second opinion.  What does high tsh and normal t3 mean with symptoms?

My younger sister just had a heart attack yesterday and this is very concerning to me.  four sisters all have hypothyroid and other autoimmune diseases.
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
666513_tn?1256921055

I'm not a doctor, but, as far as I'm concerned this just indicates that you're not on a high enough does of thyroid hormones (if you're taking them)... or that you should be taking them.

Your thyroid is still apparently making thyroid hormones, but it needs to be over stimulated (the high TSH) in order for it to do so. So, its weak, and not doing its job as it should.

You can't go off of just one test, since reading will fluctuate. If your TSH is consistently high like this, with relatively normal T3, then I'd think you're likely becoming hypothyroid and should take thyroid replacement.

You should probably consult with and Endocrinologist.
Blank