Aa
A
A
Close
short terms disability
Morning all~
Just wondering if you have taken time off due to lyme? I'm trying to get it so I can heal and be ready to go back to work at the end of August. I'm a teacher and really need my energy to get through the day/

Any thoughts on if you have gotten it, how you achived it?

I would like to go backto work but somehwat scared as my body is just adjusting to meds and still so tired from this.

JKV
Cancel
6 Answers
Page 1 of 1
428506 tn?1296560999
I debated taking a leave of absence, but since my treatment was judged to require at least a year, that didn't seem like the best option.

I don't have disability insurance, nor do I have a disability benefit at work.  

What worked for me was to switch from fulltime to partime.  I switched back in Dec. and have no plans in the near future to go back.  I'm also on a flex schedule, so I can work more on good days and less on bad days.  As long as it adds up to a certain number of hours every 2 weeks.  I was also able to keep my benefits, though I pay a bit more for them now.

It has helped a lot.  I get nasty flares and Herxes, and at 8 months into treatment I still have lots of days where my Lyme makes it very difficult to work, even for just an hour or two at a time.  I still take full days off more often than I'd like.

The biggest "snag" in my situation is my position is not permanent, so I feel a ticking clock to get better enough to be on the job market before my job expires.

I was offered to telecommute, but I have such a short driving commute that I'd rather keep my work at work.  But that's another option others may want to consider.  

I would definitely suggest looking into any accommodations your work can make for you while in treatment.  Hopefully, you will make a fast recovery, but any stress you can take off of yourself will help.